2011 AIA NJ Design Competition Winners Announced

July 4, 2011

AIA New Jersey announced the winners of the 2011 Design Awards. Congratulations to all the winners.

Centra Iselin c. 2011 Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates

Architectural – Non‐Residential

Centra – Iselin, NJ
Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, PC

The Aspen Institute c. 2011 Farewell Mills Gatsch Architects

Architectural – Non‐Residential

The Aspen Institute – Walter Paepcke Memorial
Farewell Mills Gatsch Architects, LLC

Architectural – Non‐Residential

Ikon.5 architects
Campus Commons, State University of New York at New Paltz

Architectural – Non‐Residential

KSS Architects
Warch Campus Center, Lawrence University

Architectural – Non‐Residential

Payette Architects*, (Project Team Executive Architect)
Princeton University Frick Chemistry Laboratory

*Updated 8/4/2011: Payette Architects in collaboration with Hopkins Architects, Design Architect for project

Residential – Built

Minivernini Vandermark Architecture
33 Willow Terrace


Royal Medical Services –Jordan

Interior Architecture

Clarke Caton Hintz Architecture Firm
Offices for Clarke Caton Hintz

Historic Preservation

Farewell Mills Gatsch Architects, LLC
Kahn Bath House & Day Camp Pavilions

Kahn Bath House c. 2011 Farewell Mills Gatsch Architects

More information on each of the winners to follow.

By | Posted in AIA-NJ News, Architecture in NJ, NJ Architect Newsletter | Tagged: , | Comments (7)

7 responses to “2011 AIA NJ Design Competition Winners Announced”

  1. Caroline Hancock says:

    Please make corrections to this post: the word “Architectural” is typoed 5 times — and it’s “Frick Chemistry” not “Rick Chemistry” at Princeton University. Thank you.

  2. admin says:

    Thank you so much for the copy editing, it is much appreciated. I believe all of the errors you pointed out are corrected.
    – AIA New Jersey

  3. sharon mchugh us editor, world architecture news + abitare says:

    It is truly disconcerting that the design architect for the new Frick Chemistry Laboratory at Princeton University, in this case Michael Hopkins Architects, is not credited. A correction is most appreciated.

    • admin says:

      Payette Architects is being awarded the AIA-NJ Design Awards for their submission regarding their participation in this project. Many projects have more than one architecture firm as a member of the project team. This article and this listing is solely the project names and architects who award submissions were selected by the jurors.

  4. sharon mchugh says:

    I find it curious that my prior email requesting to correct the record and credit Hopkins Architects as the design architect of the new Frick Chemistry Laboratory at Princeton University has been deleted from this website while others have not. More to the point, it is distressing that an organization that seeks to honor architecture has not yet corrected the record to reflect the facts.
    Sharon McHugh
    US Editor World Architecture News / Abitare

    • admin says:

      I am sorry that you are unhappy with the AIA-NJ Design Award process, however as we have previously communicated directly with you – your comments are being looked into so that proper recognition can be given in subsequent releases. As a group who advocates architects and architecture made up of architects we at AIA-NJ are very concerned with proper recognition for buildings.

  5. […] a list of the 2011 Design Award winners. Share this:FacebookTwitterPrintEmailDiggStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]



Upcoming Events

  1. March ALNNJ Board of Trustees Meeting

    March 22 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm
  2. ALNNJ Members Pre-Film Reception

    March 22 @ 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm
  3. March ALNNJ Membership Event

    March 22 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Architects are skilled professionals who listen to you, interpret your wishes, help realize your building dreams, and add value at every stage of a project.

414 Riverview Plaza, Trenton, NJ 08611
(609) 393-5690