Celebrating New Jersey Architects and the excellence of New Jersey Architectural Projects

The AIA New Jersey Annual Design Awards Program brings public and professional recognition to architectural projects which exhibit design excellence.   Architects are invited to submit their work for review by the distinguished Design Awards Jury.

The 2017 AIANJ Design Awards will be run electronically through a system called CadmiumCD   The electronic format will allow members to also participate the 2017 QUAD Design Awards.  Instead of preparing a board, participants will upload photographs, drawings and copy into the system.  There have been minor changes to the submission categories this year for ease in participating in the 2017 QUAD Design Awards.  As in years past, the three-member jury will meet to determine winners, reviewing projects via computer screen.  The fee to participate remains at $150 for the first design submission and $100 for each additional submission.  Participants will have the opportunity to also participate in the 2017 QUAD Design Awards for a fee of $25.

Architects licensed and residing in New Jersey may submit projects located anywhere. Architects whose practice is located outside New Jersey may submit projects whose site is located in New Jersey. AIA membership is required. Architectural interns and students are eligible only for the Unbuilt category.  Credit must be given to all contributing architectural firms. The project, or submitted work, must have been completed after June 30, 2010. “Completed” is defined as “substantial completion” in accordance with standard AIA documents.

BUILT AWARDS: Built Project categories recognize design excellence in various kinds of built architectural projects recognizes design excellence in various kinds of built architectural projects. Submissions may be a single building, a related group of buildings, interior architecture, additions, restorations, or adaptive use projects. Entries may fall into more than one category but must be assigned by the entrant to one category only.

  • Commercial, Institutional, Educational, or Multi-Family Residential Design

Eligibility: Both public and private projects- single buildings, a related group of buildings forming a single project, interior architecture, and additions/renovations.

  • Residential Design

Eligibility: Single family residences and/or accessory buildings, new or remodeled, or any addition. Projects previously submitted to the Alice Washburn Awards program may also be submitted to this category.

  • Preservation

Eligibility: Projects that address design issues related to adaptive use, rehabilitation, reconstruction or pure restoration.

  • Interior Architecture

Eligibility: projects of any scope that may be new construction, renovation, preservation or restoration, rehabilitation, reconstruction or pure restoration.

UNBUILT AWARDS: Unbuilt architectural designs, of any project type, including purely theoretical, visionary projects, with or without a client.


  • Eligibility: urban design projects, planning programs, civic improvements, campus plans, regional plans, environmental programs or redevelopment projects. Examples might be research, policy development and implementation, community initiatives or charrettes, and input and assessment tools.

Submissions require: project category; project name and location; architectural firm, principal, and contact information; project description photographs; other graphic materials; photography release form; jury photo; and media image.


Registration Deadline: August 15

Submission Deadline: September 12

Jury: September 27

Presentation of Awards: January 14, 2018
AIANJ Awards & Installation Dinner

Click below to register:



For More Information

Please call Laura Slomka at 609-393-5690 or email lslomka@njpsi.com