AIA-NJ Annual Dinner Held

January 24, 2012

AIA-NJ held it’s annual awards event at The Waterside in North Bergen on Saturday, Jan. 7 2012. The annual event also celebrated the top achievements among architects and architectural companies throughout the state.

2012 Executive Committee: (L to R) Mihalik, Wholean, Hanrahan, Eben, Kalafsky, Bunn, Purvis, Frizzell and Parisi

The 2012 President is Laurence E. Parisi, AIA, of Fort Lee. He is owner and president of Laurence E. Parisi P.C. Architects, located in North Bergen. With more than 40 years of experience, he specializes in the design and development of educational, municipal, residential, health care and commercial facilities.

“We express our sincere gratitude to those officers who served AIANJ in 2011 and are looking forward to another great year under the guidance of our incoming 2012 officer class,” Parisi said.

Jack Purvis, AIA, of Howell was installed as president-elect. Purvis has more than 25 years of experience. His firm, Jack A. Purvis Architect in Allenwood, was established in 1986 and caters to a wide variety of projects including new construction, renovations and additions to commercial, residential, private and public facilities.

Kimberly Bunn, AIA, of Moorestown, is first vice president. She is owner and principal of Moorestown-based Bunn Architecture, a full service architectural firm specializing in residential projects.

Kurt Kalafsky, AIA, of Howell, was installed as second vice president. Kalafsky is a founding principal and chief technology officer of the Aztec Corp. and Aztec Architects LLC. He is a registered architect in 28 states and the District of Columbia.

Justin A. Mihalik, AIA, of Essex Fells resumed his position as treasurer. Mihalik is a principal at J.A. Mihalik Architect LLC in Essex Fells.

Verity Frizzell, AIA, of  Bay Head, N.J., was installed as secretary.  Frizzell is owner of  Feltz & Frizzell Architects in Point Pleasant.

Michael Hanrahan, AIA, of Readington Township, N.J., was installed as past president. Hanrahan is an associate partner at Clarke Canton Hintz, an award-winning architecture, planning and landscape architecture firm in Trenton, N.J.

Jerome Leslie Eben, AIA, of West Orange, will resume his position as regional director. Eben is an architect and ambassador for Deutsche Steinzeug, a German-based ceramic tile manufacturer, and principal of Jerome Leslie Eben, Architect and Planner in West Orange, N.J.

Clair Wholean, AIA, of Jersey City, resumed her position as regional associate director. Wholean is a project manager at the New York City-based, full service architectural firm, Kenny & Khan Architects.

During the evening the AIA-NJ Service Awards were presented to the following:
Distinguished Service Award – Verity Frizzell, AIA
Architect of the Year – Jason Kliwinski, AIA
Young Architect of the Year – Benjamin Walmer, AIA
Intern Architect of the Year – Claire Wholean, Assoc. AIA
Firm of the Year – Arcari ad Iovino Archtiects
Resident of the Year – Lawrence Powers, Esq.

Past presidents of AIA-NJ recognized at Annual Dinner

Past Presidents of the organization were recognized during the event with a newly created Past Presidents Medal.   Fourteen past presidents, including thee latest past president Michael Hanrahan, AIA, were honored.   Recipients shown in picture at left: (L to R) Jerome Eben AIA, Stacey Ruhle Kliesch AIA, Michael Hanrahan AIA, Robert Cozzarelli AIA, Martin Santini AIA, Eric Wagner AIA, Robin Murray FAIA, Seth Leeb AIA, William Brown III AIA, David DelVecchio AIA, Stephen Carlidge AIA, Bruce Turner AIA, and Jason Kliwinski AIA.

The 2011 AIA-NJ Scholarship awards were also presented to three New Jersey residents.  Kyle Ryan of Cherry Hill, for $5000; Matthew Gins of Wyckoff for $3000; and Saif Haobsh of Wayne for $4000.

By | Posted in AIA-NJ News | Tagged: , | Comments (0)



Architects are skilled professionals who listen to you, interpret your wishes, help realize your building dreams, and add value at every stage of a project.

414 Riverview Plaza, Trenton, NJ 08611
(609) 393-5690