AIANJ 2021 Design Awards

September 15, 2021

Reading Time: 3 minutes

AIA New Jersey 2021 Design Awards

Given the current environment, the 2021 AIA New Jersey Design Competition will be an electronic submission using CadmiumCD. Participants will upload a PDF of their 40”x 40” design board, two images from the design board and a pdf of the text found on the design board into the system. Please review the updated design categories.   A three-member out-of-state jury will review the boards and determine winners.
The fee to participate remains at $150 for the first design submission and $100 for each additional submission. You may submit a project in multiple categories at a fee of $150 for the first submission and $100 for each additional category HOWEVER, you can only win in ONE category with that particular project.
You may submit unlimited projects.
Winners will be announced at a virtual reception on October 27, 2021.
If you compete in the NJ Competition, you are eligible to register for the Tri States Competition. Please go to to register.


AIA licensed Architects licensed and residing in New Jersey may submit projects from anywhere. Those whose practice is located outside New Jersey may only submit projects in New Jersey. Architectural interns and students are eligible only for the Unbuilt category. Credit must be given to all contributing architectural firms. The project, or submitted work, must have been completed after June 30, 2016. “Completed” is defined as “substantial completion” in accordance with standard AIA documents.


Registration Deadline: September 20, 2021
(registration fee must be paid, project does NOT have to be completed)
Submission Deadline: October 1, 2021
(project must be completed)
Announcement of Awards: Virtual reception October 27, 2021
(more information to follow)


Submissions are electronic and require project category; project name and location;
architectural firm, principal, contact information on the registration. No firm or project name on the Design Board. The Design Board should be a PDF.


$150 for the first submission. $100 each additional submission. Payment to be made by credit card.




Built Project categories recognize design excellence in various kinds of built architectural projects. Submissions may be a single building, a related group of buildings, interior architecture, additions, restorations, or adaptive use projects. Entries may fall into more than one category. You must pay for each entry.
Eligibility: Both public and private projects: single buildings, a related group of
buildings forming a single project, and additions/renovations.
Residential Design
Eligibility: Single and multi-family residences and/or accessory buildings, new or
remodeled, or any addition.
Eligibility: Projects that address design issues related to adaptive use,
rehabilitation, reconstruction or pure restoration.
Interior Architecture
Eligibility: projects of any scope that may be new construction, renovation, or
preservation or restoration, rehabilitation, reconstruction or pure restoration that
focuses on interior space.
Built Sustainability
Eligibility: Recognizes excellence in ecological stewardship, including reduced
environmental impact and reduced energy consumption, as well as attention to
quality of life issues, resiliency, and community engagement within the
Built installation Sculpture or Furniture Piece
Eligibility: Built specialty fabrications, art installations, furniture elements,
sculptures; objects that are not necessarily buildings or spaces but are created by
Small Projects
Eligibility: Projects $500,000 or less.


Unbuilt architectural designs, for which there is no current intent to build, of any project type, including purely theoretical, visionary projects, with or without a client.


Eligibility: urban design projects, planning programs, civic improvements, campus plans, plans, environmental programs or redevelopment projects. Examples might be research, policy development and implementation, community initiatives or charrettes, and input and assessment tools.
Questions? Contact  Laura Slomka

By | Posted in Architecture in NJ, CRAN, Historic Resources, NJ Architect Newsletter | Tagged: , | Comments (0)



Architects are creative professionals, educated, trained, and experienced in the art and science of building design, and licensed to practice architecture. Their designs respond to client needs, wants and vision, protect public safety, provide economic value, are innovative, inspire and contribute positively to the community and the environment.

414 Riverview Plaza, Trenton, NJ 08611
(609) 393-5690